Within the animal kingdom the Felidae family is classified as one of the cat-like families (Feliformia) that belong to the carnivorous group (Carnivora) of mammals. The Felidae family lower classification is further subdivided into two sub families Pantherinae and Felinae.

Felidae Family Classification

Kingdom: Animalia   (animals)

Phylum: Chordata   (vertebrates)

Class: Mammalia   (mammals)

Order: Carnivora   (carnivores)

Suborder: Feliformia   (cat-like)

Family: Felidae   (cats)

Felidae family classification
The Felidae Family Classification in the Animal Kingdom.

The Felidae family is often called the true cat family to distinguish it from other families of cat-like animals – like genets and civets.


Felidae Family Lower Classification

The Felidae family lower classification consists of 2 sub families, 14 genera, 38 species and numerous subspecies.

Family: Felidae

Subfamily: Pantherinae (big cat species) – 2 genera and 7 species

Subfamily: Felinae (small cat species) – 12 genera and 31 species

Felidae Lower Classification
Felidae Lower Classification – Subfamilies Pantherinae and Felinae


View the full list of Felidae genera and species.

Reference: The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Version 2016-2. <www.iucnredlist.org>. 22 Nov 2016.