The 3 Cats of the Bay Cat Lineage

The Bay Cat Lineage consists of three varied cats in the Pardofelis ('panther cat') and Catopuma genera.

These cats inhabit the forests of South East Asia and have been little studied.

The Bay Cat lineage is the second oldest Felidae lineage to diverge from the ancestral cat species in Asia at 9.4 million years ago and three species evolved in South East Asia.

Catopuma Genus

The two cats of the Catopuma genus are the Asiatic Golden Cat and the Borneo Bay Cat.

Pardofelis Genus

The Pardofelis genus consists of only one cat - the Marbled Cat.

3. Marbled Cat (Pardofelis marmorata)

Marbled Cat (Pardofelis marmorata) - Bay Cat Lineage
Copyright: Global Canopy Programme. Photo by: Jo Ross and Andrew Hearn. (with permission) Image Source Please do not Copy or Share without permission.

Marbled Cat Fact Sheet Marbled Cat Classification

Borneo Wild Cat Project Marbled Cats in Borneo

Bay Cat Family Classification

In scientific classification (taxonomy) the forest cats of the Bay Cat lineage belong to the cat family Felidae and the small cat subfamily Felinae. The higher and lower classifications of this group are as follows:


Kingdom: Animalia (animals)

Phylum: Chordata (vertebrates)

Class: Mammalia (mammals)

Order: Carnivora (carnivores)

Suborder: Feliformia (cat-like)

Family: Felidae (cats)

Subfamily: Felinae (small cats)

Genus: Catopuma

Species: Catopuma temminckii (Asiatic Golden Cat)

Species: Catopuma badia (Borneo Bay Cat)

Genus: Pardofelis

Species: Pardofelis marmorata (Marbled Cat)


Other small Asian wild cats are grouped under the Felis lineage and the Leopard Cat lineage and the big Asian cats under the Panthera lineage.

Wild Cat Course

Bay Cat Lineage Cat Quiz

Click through on the images, videos and fact sheets above to find the answers to this quiz. Good luck!

1. What type of habitat do these three cats occupy?

2. Which cat was thought to be extinct until recently?

3. Which cat only occurs in Borneo?

4. Which other cat is the Marbled Cat similar to in coat pattern?

5. Which cat has a counterpart in Africa although they are not related?

6. Which cat lives primarily in trees?

=^ . ^=