The 4 Cats of the Lynx Lineage (largest to smallest)

The Lynx lineage consists of 4 cats in the Lynx genus that all have very short tails and pointed, tufted ears.
They live in the northern temperate climates and have been exploited widely for their fur.

Lynx Genus

2. Canada Lynx (Lynx canadensis)

Canadian Lynx - Lynx canadensis - Lynx Lineage

Canada Lynx Fact Sheet

ISEC Canada   *   NWF America

3. Iberian Lynx (Lynx pardinus)

Iberian Lynx - Lynx pardina - Lynx LineageIberian Lynx Fact Sheet

WWF UK   *   IUCN Cat Specialist Group

Lynx Lineage All Cats

Lynx Classification

In scientific classification (taxonomy) the Lynx cats belong to the cat family Felidae and the small cat subfamily Felinae. The higher and lower classifications of this group are as follows:

Family: Felidae

Subfamily: Felinae

Genus: Lynx

Species: Lynx lynx (Eurasian Lynx)

Species: Lynx canadensis (Canada Lynx)

Species: Lynx pardinus (Iberian Lynx)

Species: Lynx rufus (Bobcat)

Video Clips Taken in the Wild

Eurasian Lynx Videos
ARKive video - Adult Eurasian lynx in snow with juveniles
Canadian Lynx Videos
ARKive video - Canada lynx in snowy habitat, grooming
Iberian Lynx Videos
ARKive video - Iberian lynx female and juvenile interacting
Bobcat Videos
ARKive video - Bobcat - overview

Wild Cat CourseLynx Lineage Cat Quiz

Click through on the images, videos and fact sheets above to find the answers to this quiz. Good luck!

1. Which is the largest lynx species?

2. Which characteristics distinguish bobcats from the other lynxes?

3. Which trait (even though it does occur in some other species) is distinctive of this group of cats?


4. Which of the lynx species was the most threatened of all the cat species until recently?

5. Is trade of lynx furs legally allowed in the USA?

6. Which African cat is also called a ‘lynx’ even though it does not genetically belong to the group of lynx cats?

=^ . ^=